The Ebony Parks Excellence in English Award, named for the former English teacher who was also the first of the North Lawndale College Preparatory High School alumni to return as teacher, recognizes the qualities of exceptional students in English. Annually at each grade level at both campuses, this award honors one male and one female.

In the spirit of Ms. Parks, the recipient of this award pursues and achieves excellence within his/her English classroom, exhibits exceptional persistence and resilience in his/her learning, demonstrates a wide range of creative and analytical skills, and promotes the success of his/her classmates.

Read about it in Doane College Magazine!


Recipients of the Ebony Parks Excellence in English Award

Collins Campus:

9th Grade:
10th Grade:
11th Grade:
12th Grade:

Christiana Campus

9th Grade:         Malik Dorris-Davis and Matlynn Huggins

10th Grade:       Quinton Green and Dakila Thomas
11th Grade:        Keith Walker and Doneisha Brown
12th Grade:        Akin Barnes and Armani Hubbard



Collins Campus:

9th Grade: Tino Gilmore, Akeelah Miller-Beene, and Adriana Williams

10th Grade: Charles Donegan and Khydeshia Bouie

11th Grade: Kaprisha Martin and Dametrius Coleman

12th Grade: DeAmonte Nelson

Christiana Campus

9th Grade:         Janisha Calhoun and Darquan Massey

10th Grade:        Kiana Porter and Marquise Smith

11th Grade:        Kenasia Daniels and Malik Dorris-Davis

12th Grade:        Tavaris Coleman and Monique Robinson


Collins Campus:

9th Grade:           Marla Stamps and Shmeek Johnson

10th Grade:        Ahzsala Pitts and Dametrius Coleman

11th Grade:        Tanesha Jordan and DeAmonte Nelson

12th Grade:        Chauncey Rice and Amanda White

Christiana Campus

9th Grade:          Denise Davis andMarcel Matthews

10th Grade:        Alonzo Thomas and Artaesia Horton

11th Grade:        Monique Robinson and Timothy Gowdy

12th Grade:        Joy Carpenter and Kenshunna Tolliver


Collins Campus:

9th Grade:           Kaprisha Martin and Sheldon Calhoun   

10th Grade:        Ciera Morens and Israel Ortiz  

11th Grade:        Jaamela Collins and Jehiel Martinez

12th Grade:        Montinique Garner and Shaquille Henry

Christiana Campus

9th Grade:          Janiyah Williams and Terry McGee

10th Grade:        Demonta Hawkins and Joceyln Holman

11th Grade:        Precious Worsham and Ronald Reese

12th Grade:        Dana Nolton and Quartell West-Crenshaw


Collins Campus:

9th Grade:            DeAmonte Nelson and Dumanisha Ward

10th Grade:          Jaylen Winston and Sharai Murray

11th Grade:          Chantel Jones and Aretha Morgan

Christiana Campus

9th Grade:            Taneja Shaw and Joshua Strong

10th Grade:          Reuben Riggs and Tytiana Powell

11th Grade:          Kadijah Pullen and Dantrell Gibson

12th Grade:          Keshona Jackson and Cadavian Dean


Collins Campus:

9th Grade:           Steven Calhoun and Marina Whitehead

10th Grade:         Montinique Garner and Terrill Reynolds

Christiana Campus

9th Grade:            Lamar Allen and Clemesha Greyer

10th Grade:          Brandon Thorpe and Khadijah Pullen

11th Grade:          LaMonica Rider and Cadavian Dean

12th Grade:          Tiffany Holden and Robert Stuart


Collins Campus:

9th Grade:            Chantel Jones and Tiffany Ward

Christiana Campus

9th Grade:            Brandon Thorpe and Bria Hyde

10th Grade:          Adrian Jones and April Birge

11th Grade:          Brandon Hummons and Louvina Davis

12th Grade:          Xavier Pennington and Tekikki Walker

The 2006-2007 English Department Award Recipients

(prior to the renaming of the award and the creation of a second NLCP campus, the Collins campus)

9th Grade:            Adrian Jones and Danielle Martin

10th Grade :         Briant Edwards and Krystal Murray

11th Grade :         Alexandria Moore and Jessica Warren

12th Grade :         Leneshia Dixon and Darrian Thomas